2010 Goalball Nationals

The New Zealand Goalball Nationals were recently held this year at Christchurch Boys High School from 1-3 October. Five teams competed in the open division with teams from Auckland, Canterbury, Waikato, Wellington and Australia. There were three teams in the womens division, one from Auckland and two from Canterbury.

After two days of competition in the open division the standings were, Wombats-1, Auckland-2, Wellington-3, Waikato-4 and Canterbury-5. Canterbury and Wellington then battled it out to stay in the competition, with Wellington eventually winning 5-2. This then gave Wellington the opportunity to take on Auckland for a spot in the final. In a close fort battle Auckland won 4-3. The other spot in the final was going to be winner of the Waikato and the Wombats match. The Wombats easily dispatched of Waikato 13-3. So the open 2010 final was going to be between the Australian Wombats and Auckland and for the first time a New Zealand Nationals Open Competition was taken out by an Australian tean, The Wombats 7-2. 

The Wombats consisted of John Tongalea, Rob Crestani, Barry Bailey, Hamish McKenzie, Macro Curralejo, David Truong and Lindsay Heaven was Coach.

Best offensive player was awarded to Hamish Tahana from Wellington and best defensive player went to Rob Crestani from The Wombats.

After 3 round robins in the womens competition the Auckland team and Canterbury Seniors team had equal points. Auckland had a better goal differential so went straight through to the final. Canterbury Senior and Canterbury Junior had to do battle for the other spot and the Seniors came through comfortably winning 8-0. The final was always going to be close. The results of the round robin games between Auckland and Canterbury Seniors were one win a piece and a draw. In the final Auckland only scored once, but that was all that was needed, winning the final 1-0.

The Auckland team consisted of Dallas Phillips, Kellie Dore, Annie Pesamino and Mike Law and Susan O'Brien were the coaches.

In the womens competition the best defensive player was awarded to Jo Froggat from Canterbury Seniors and best offensive player went to Dallas Phillips from Auckland.

The spirit of sport award this year was given to Patrick Sherwood from Canterbury.

Next year, GNZ are looking at holding the nationals as part of Paralympics New Zealand Multisport games to be held from Thursday 4 November to Sunday 7 November in Hamilton, watch here for more information.